Review of Angels, Eagles, and Fire by Allison Kohn

Kiexiza’s review Sep 08, 13
5 of 5 stars
Read in September, 2013

This is the 2nd novel from Allison that i have read. There seems to be a theme here with mid-west travel, the past, and scripture… Not my usual kind of read, in fact far from it, though it wasn’t my usual kind of read i found it interesting. I had to remember it was way past as the ages of these Children, by today’s standards, were talking about marriage, babies, husbands and such. There was some scripture quoting my characters especially as Theodore was learning the word. Young Alice and her decision that she surely would not be married, because she knew she would be unable to submit was a revelation to me. I wish some women a today would take that bold step… there was even some reference to the slavery that was going on around that time frame. I was glad the N word wasn’t used though that would have probably been correct terminology for back then. I don’t think i would of been able to read it if the N word was in it. There was a lot in the book that kept me reading, I don’t know how I would have reacted had my children been injured as the young girls were. I think my faith would have been tested as well. Though it took place a long time ago I did connect to the book and its characters. The scripture readings were not over the top but correct for the characters in which were reciting them… Another great read by this author.eview of Angels, Eagles, and Fire

http://www.amazon.com/Angels-Eagles-Baker-Family-ebook/dp/B008VIJNL0/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1378686402&sr=8-1&keywords=Angels+Eagles+and+Fire

Leave a Reply

