Part Two Asenath, chapter Six continued

Asenath wondered if Joseph’s God would think deception was sin. Well she had to find out, and speaking to the Hebrew was the only way to find out – and deception was the only way she would get to see the Hebrew, wasn’t it? But what if deception was sin to Joseph’s God? That would only make the sin barrier wider and it would be that much harder to find the solution. Oh, what to do! What to do!
Asenath sighed and called her maid. She would began practicing the art of makeup in earnest and if she decided not to use it to disguise herself, she decided, at least she would be making her mother happy by learning to use it well.
She was delighted to find she could make herself look older by the artful application of makeup and jewelry. She experimented all that day and half the next. It was amazing! Face paint and clothes could make her look quite different and she was sure she could fool anyone easily. Just to make sure though, she got herself up in the most elaborate disguise she could imagine and went and stood before her mother.
“Goodness, Asenath, you’ll have to do better than that,” her mother said. “You look much too old. Go wash it off and try again, Dear. Why not ask my maid to help?”
“But Mother!” Asenath said. “How did you recognize me? I was sure no one would know me this way.”
Her mother’s eyes widened and her mouth fell open for a moment, but the shock was replaced by her usual calm smile almost immediately. “Why yes, Dear, I see what you mean. You have changed the shape of your mouth and eyes and it’s very clever but it makes you look much too old. Go change it now, please. That’s a good girl.”
Asenath’s head was down and her shoulders were slumped forward as she left the room and almost knocked her father over.
“Oh! Why Asenath, it’s you,” he said. “You look – funny.” Lines creased his forehead. “I was just going to look for you. I’m going over to Potiphar’s and I’d like for you to go along. But if you don’t feel well, of course, it can wait.”
“No, no, I’m alright, Asenath said. I just need some time to change. Is Mother going?”
“No, that’s why I need you. Potiphar isn’t at home and I need to talk to Joseph. It would better if I didn’t go alone,” her father said. “Hurry and change.”
So Asenath, with mingled feelings of fear and anticipation, found herself going to Potiphar’s with no disguise to protect her. Well, at least she would go with her head up. She wasn’t deceiving anyone and if his wife got upset and mean she, Asenath, would just have to cross that bridge when she came to it.
Then, after all, Potiphar’s wife wasn’t even at home when they got there; but how was Asenath going to get Joseph alone to ask her questions?
Asenath’s father was talking business to Joseph and it wasn’t likely he would say, when he was ready to go home, “Well, Asenath, I’ll go on home and leave you to talk to Joseph now.”
But wait! What was that her father was saying? “We Egyptians worship many gods. Of which of them do you speak, Joseph? Asenath’s father was a priest in the service of Ra, the sun god.
“I speak of the God of heaven and Earth and all that is – the Creator,” Joseph said. “Almighty God!”
Asenath’s father laughed good naturedly. “You say that as though your god were the God of gods.”
“Yes,” Joseph said. “He is the eternal self-existent Master of the universe. He created all that is and rules the universe in loving kindness, judgment, and mercy.”
“But sin is a violation of his standard and character,” Asenath said, “and he must judge it and reject it. That is why sin causes spiritual death resulting in separation from Joseph’s God.”
Joseph gave her a comradely smile and said, “And as long as sin separates us from God, we can’t enjoy the life and relationship with him he wants us to have.”
“But,” Asenath’s father said, “can’t we gain acceptance by proper living and good deeds? And surely your god will accept a blood sacrifice, will he not?”
“I’ve wanted you to explain to me about the blood atonement,” Asenath told Joseph. “Who can offer a sacrifice for me?”
“God will provide the blood atonement,” Joseph said. “We make the blood sacrifice to show a picture of what we know about God.”
“What do you mean?” Asenath asked. “I thought blood sacrifices were made to appease the gods.”
Then she remembered and her breath went in sharply. “Oh, but we can’t, can we? You said God would provide the blood atonement.”
“When we see the sacrifice suffering and bleeding because of our sins, we are reminded of the awfulness of sin and the death that we deserve,” Joseph said. “We see God’s holiness – he alone hates all evil. We see his justice – he does not leave sin unpunished. And we see his mercy in that he is ready to pardon us, who truly turn from our sin and believe him.”
Asenath’s father was smiling indulgently and waiting patiently, but Asenath was afraid it wouldn’t last.
“I must find out more about your wonderful God,” she said. “I want him to be my God too.” She turned to her father. “Oh Father, can’t we stay and learn more about this God?”
Her father patted her on the back and said kindly, “You may stay here as long as you want to, Daughter, but I must return to my duties.”
“Oh, no, please Father, you must not leave me here alone! Potiphar’s wife might return.” Asenath covered her mouth and a groan escaped her lips as her face turned red.
“Ah,” her father said. “I see,” and he seated himself to stay a while. That was when Asenath begin to understand why her father hadn’t wanted to come here alone to see Joseph in Potiphar’s house where Potiphar’s wife was usually so much in evidence.
So Asenath also settled down and began to ask more questions.
“You have no temple here for your God,” she said, “and you have no priest to make the sacrifice. How, then, can I have the blood of the atonement?”
“God has provided the blood of the atonement, little sister,” Joseph said, bowing slightly. Men and women often called each other brother and sister as a term of endearment and Asenath’s whole being warmed to the address. “God accepted Abel’s sacrifice because he believed God would provide the recompense for his sins, and God consumed the sacrifice with fire. We know that Enoch walked with God by faith and God regarded his faith as righteousness and took him to live with him in heaven. We know that our father, Noah, also walked in faith with God – and God saved him and his family out of the great flood. Father Abraham believed God and it was esteemed by God as righteousness. My fathers, Isaac and Jacob, believed God and the sin barrier was removed because they believed. God will send One to be the blood atonement who will fulfill all the righteousness requirements of God’s holiness.”
Asenath was listening with growing joy and now she broke into Joseph’s account with her words almost running over themselves. “So God will be my god and I can walk with him just because I believe that he will send One to pay the price for my sins?”
“That’s right, little sister,” Joseph said. “And he will talk to your heart and be your guide throughout eternity.”
“You must worship and please Osiris if you want eternal life,” Asenath’s father said philosophically.
“No,” Joseph said, “for my god is my Redeemer and he lives and will stand on the earth in the last days. And after my skin is struck off, this I know, that in my flesh I shall see God for myself.” He turned again to Asenath. “Our eyes shall behold him, little sister. Oh how my heart yearns within me for that day!”
Asenath didn’t see Joseph again for a good long while, because it was the very next day that Potiphar had him thrown into prison. But he taught her to pray and to sing a hymn to the Most High God before she left and it was a great comfort and joy to her.
Many times she stood on the banks of the Nile and sang these words and they were a balm to her lonely heart (for Asenath couldn’t look at another man after her encounter with Joseph without comparing him unfavorably): “Truly my soul waits upon God. My salvation comes from God. He is my defense, and I shall not be moved from him. My soul, wait only upon God, for my confidence is in him, my rock and my salvation; my defense. In God alone is my salvation and my glory; he is the rock of my strength and my sanctuary.
“Oh God, you are my God and I will seek you first: for my soul thirsts for you, my flesh longs for you. With others the land is dry and thirsty. There is no water. I long to see you, in your power and glory. Your loving kindness is better than life. My lips shall I praise you, as long as I live, and I will lift up my hands in your name.”

One thought on “Part Two Asenath, chapter Six continued

  1. Pingback: Part Two Asenath, chapter Six continued | akleslieprice

Leave a Reply

